Get HH posts in your email!
I’m no wine expert, but I reached out to the folks at Barnivore who said white wines tend to be vegan, but not all. Whether or not a white wine vinegar is vegan then, would depend on if the wine used to make the vinegar was vegan in the first place. I imagine you’d have to do a little research -- track down the company, see what wines they use, find out if those wines are vegan. If you're wondering "wait! how can wine not be "vegan" it's made from grapes?" it's because eggs and other animal parts are sometimes used in the process of making wine. As an alternative, rice wine vinegar is a decent substitute in most recipes and mirin might also work.